Statement by the Prime Minister of Canada announcing additional sanctions against 16 Russian entities

Ottawa, Ontario
4 May 2014

Prime Minister Stephen Harper today issued the following statement announcing that Canada has imposed economic sanctions against 16 additional Russian entities:

"Russia’s illegal occupation of Ukraine and provocative military activity remains a serious concern to the international community.

"The measures we are announcing today will continue to increase economic pressure on Russia and those responsible for the crisis in Ukraine.

"We remain committed to working with our allies to preserve and promote a free, democratic and peaceful world, and will take further actions if Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity continues to be threatened."