Statement by the Prime Minister of Canada announcing further sanctions

Ottawa, Ontario
21 June 2014

Prime Minister Stephen Harper today issued the following statement announcing further economic sanctions and travel bans against 11 Russian and Ukrainian individuals plus one additional entity:

“Russia’s illegal occupation of the Crimean peninsula in Ukraine and provocative military activity remains a serious concern to the international community.

“The measures we are announcing today against additional Russian and Ukrainian individuals and an entity that have facilitated the violation of Ukrainian sovereignty and territorial sovereignty will continue to increase economic pressure on those responsible for the crisis in Ukraine.

“Canada also supports President Poroshenko’s peace plan.

“Canada will continue to work with our allies to apply pressure against Russia. We continue to closely monitor the situation and we are ready for further actions if necessary.”